So, I finally gave in and did it…I rode a Duck. It seems like every time I get on the road I have at least 2 Duck sightings, and they are almost invariably packed full of people! So, I decided it was about time to get on a Duck, and see what they were all about…

For those of you who don’t know, riding a Duck in Hot Springs, although it may sound like it, doesn’t pertain to anything bizarre going on with animals and is  not gonna get you arrested for animal cruelty. The Duck Tours in Hot Springs are one of the most popular and best ways to have some fun while learning a little bit about the city. A Duck, originally called a DUKW by the Army, is an old WWII amphibious vehicle developed by the U.S to deliver cargo and troops from sea, directly to shore. The DUKWs were crucial in several battles during WWII and were also used in the Korean War. Today, the Ducks as the National Park Duck Tours calls them, are used in Hot Springs to give people a unique way to tour the city!

Upon stepping onto the Duck, I was prepared for an hour and a half of swimming in my own sweat, but it actually wasn’t near as bad as I thought. The Duck’s big and tall frame coupled with its wide open sides allows for passengers to get the most out of the cool breezes that blow across the lake, creating a fairly comfortable climate.

The tour guide, or captain as they are called, boarded the Duck and we were finally off. Our Captain, who was hilarious, reminded me of a cross between Bill Engvall in looks, and Larry the Cable Guy in his sense of humour. Mixed in with the humour however were many interesting facts about the city and its history. Whether I was lost in the beautiful scenery or laughing at jokes the Captain was making, I was entertained for the entirety of the trip.

The tour really took on a unique twist when the Captain turned the Duck towards the lake and, just like they were made to do…drove right in! Yes, the Duck Tour takes you across Hot Springs by land and water. While I think it’s top speed on the water is probably 2.5 mph, it was still exciting to be on the water in a vehicle with wheels!

Riding a Duck is a very unique experience and is something I would recommend to anyone visiting Hot Springs. I really enjoyed this experience and look forward to more in the future!

Location: 418 Central Avenue (Across from the historic Bath House Row)

Contact: (501) 321-2911, www.rideaduck.com

