Looking for something to do that’s off the beaten path, and out of the sights and sounds of the city? Then Castleberry Riding Stables may be just the place for you!

If you’ve ever been horseback riding, then you know how rewarding an experience it can be. Just you and your horse, experiencing the great outdoors…it’s a unique experience all its own. I’ve never been much of a horse guy (by that I mean horses usually scare the crap out of me), but Mr. Castleberry made me feel relaxed and right at home atop the huge, old, white stallion I was on, named Dakota. Castleberry Stables was featured in Southern Living Magazine, is the oldest riding stable in Arkansas, and is in a great spot due to its ability to make you feel like you’re a thousand miles away from the city while remaining relatively close to downtown Hot Springs (only about 8 miles away). I was also pleased with the rustic look of the waiting area and welcome center, complete with more Western memorabilia then you could think of.

The Castleberry stables house around 15 horses of different sizes, ages, and colors, so if you’re an experienced rider, or a first-timer like myself, Castleberry Riding Stables has a horse to fit your needs. Mr. Castleberry personally leads you throughout the Ouachita Mountain range, across beautifully scenic trails and through small brooks and streams on a 45 minute ride. He also knows a lot about the history of the Ouachita Mountain range, as well as many rivers and animals in the area. Castleberry also has hay rides, breakfast rides, and is available for retreats for churches and civic organizations.

I had a lot of fun out at Castleberry Riding Stables (and overcame my fear of horses), and would highly recommend it to anyone in the Hot Springs or Hot Springs Village area, as it is one of the most fun things I’ve done this summer. There’s nothing quite like the feeling of sitting atop such a powerful animal, enjoying the sights and sounds of nature. As I mentioned in some of my earlier blogs, this would be a great place to take a date that is fun and unique, Mr. Castleberry even mentioned that it was a good date spot.

So, if you’re ever in the area and are looking for something fun to do, you should definitely check out Castleberry Riding Stables!

Contact: (501) 623-6609, (501) 624-7291

Location: 537 Walnut Valley Rd., 71909